The Carlsbad Diaries

A few months ago, my family and I went on a family trip to Carlsbad, California!  What?  You’ve never heard of the oh-so-wonderful Carlsbad?!  Just kidding, Carlsbad…aint-so-bad!  There are wonderful, clean beaches there–one of my favorite things about the city.  But if you don’t have a family full of kids who want to go to Legoland, you probably haven’t heard of it.  I kept a one-day diary during the 3 day trip and recently came across it again!  It’s a shame I didn’t write about my first day; I had a good time, and it probably would have softened the pessimistic tone of this post.  Warning: Not suitable for people who do not understand my sarcasm and cannot empathize with my exasperation

DCIM101GOPRO
30 minutes into the 8 hour car ride…

July 4, 2015 9: 45 am

It’s 9:45 am and I’m tired.  The clouds are extremely gray, and although it’s still warm for 71 degree weather, I think I’m homesick.  I miss hot, hot summer and having things to do, things to see in San Jose.  The main (and might I say only) attraction in Carlsbad is Legoland.  There aren’t any concerts, festivals, nice parks in this city of 110,000 people.  That’s 10% of the population of my home city.  This town is a fetus.

But it’s not necessarily the city I hate per-say.  I just don’t enjoy the fact that the few things I’d like to do, I can’t.  And that’s the issue with family vacations sometimes.  You can’t accommodate everyone.  Especially when you’re the teen, no one gives a flying **** about what you want since “this trip isn’t about you”.

Doesn’t anyone see the problem with this statement?!  Of course this trip trip is about me.  It’s about everyone!  I’m a fundamental part of this family trip.  Ugh, but I guess I just have to deal with it.

DCIM101GOPRO
Day 1 at Legoland (July 3, 2015)

Can we just take a moment to analyze my fashion sense?  (or lack thereof).  Bucket hat.  Floral dress.  Marc Jacobs shades. Cropped cardigan.  Mini sports backpack.  Bless my soul and everyone’s eyes.

July 4, 2015 4:06 pm

We’re making our way back to the car in a few minutes to wash up at the hotel.  We just got out of the wave pool in Chima Waterpark.  The after-smell is extremely questionable.  The lounging area is filled with artificial sand–or what feels like stepped-on baking soda.

DCIM101GOPRO

The waterpark actually isn’t so bad, when you disregard the fact that you could get some vaginal infections because of the large number of people in the pool.  Feeling dirty was annoying but not as annoying as having to close off the pool every 15 minutes because “there were too many people”.  I know my siblings enjoyed it, and I think that’s what really counts.  Look how happy they are; they’re so cute.  :’)  Even the kid to the left, with a faux-hawk is gettin’ it.

July 4, 2015 4:37 pm

I’m currently drying.  You know how they say baths are gross because “you’re lying in your own filth”?  Well, water parks have got to be 10 times worse since you’re swimming in other people’s filth.  I realize I’ve sound very pessimistic about this Legoland trip.  And that’s not entirely true.  I did have fun!  In fact, today I think I bet my record of amount of rides I’ve ridden in a single day.  See, one of the reasons I don’t get to enjoy amusement parks is because I LOVE roller coasters.  Oh, that’s not the problem.  The problem is, I’m the ONLY one in my family with this affinity for extreme rides.  Half is too short and wimpy and the other half is at risk of high blood pressure.  And to be frank, I don’t have any friends to actually go with me.  But I’ve made that a goal: to go to a park with a friend and actually thoroughly enjoy the roller coasters.  

DCIM101GOPRO
I totally snuck my camera onto the Dinosaur ride haha, but it was going at like 20 mph, so why not?! And yes, it’s a genuine smile 🙂

While the body of my post is consumed with teen angst and whatnot, I did have some incredible, relaxing moments.  One of which was when we went to the beach!  I loved the weather: it was warm, but cloudy; the water was cold, but not icy; the sand was soft, not rocky.

Carlsbad is not a shabby city.  But what I’ve learned is that your heart has to be in it; you have to be responsible for your own happiness.  And once I did take control of it, my entire mood, my entire trip changed.

DCIM101GOPRO

DCIM101GOPRO

Leave a Reply

