Spotted: Toby Cavanaugh

I met Toby-freaking-Cavanaugh. TOBY CAVANAUGH. (AKA Keegan Allen) For all you Pretty Little Liars fans out there, I hope you are low-key jealous. Haha, just kidding. But I do think it was such an awesome coincidence.

On June 27, 2015, the Grateful Dead were giving their final performance at Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara. I remember walking by Levi’s feeling like I had just walked into a rainbow vomit of hippies. It was pretty…rad. 😉

IMG_1131

Deadheads were everywhere, swarming the roads and sidewalks, some drunk off their minds, others just celebrating 420 a little bit late. Tie-dye tapestries, dreadlocks, and unsurprisingly, weed, were objects of fascination. So I took this opportunity to not only take photos, but also meet a few friendly people!

People came from ALL over to see the Grateful Dead (Keegan Allen among some of them). It was crazy. I met people who had come from Canada, Kansas, and Australia. One person, in particular, Little Bear (who I remember because his name matched his persona), had been living on feet and just traveling through the world.

IMG_1149

IMG_1137

As I escaped the masses of Deadheads, I noticed someone who clearly looked out of place, much like myself. Dreads? Nope. Tie-dye? Nope. Shoe-less? Oh, he definitely wore shoes. I suddenly recognized the voice, as he spoke to his manager (I assumed).

“Are you Keegan Allen?” I asked. I expected him to say “no,” so at least then I could compliment him on looking as attractive as Keegan.

“Yes, I am,” he said, smiling as he took off his sunglasses. Stunned, I muttered, “Can I take a photo with you?” There wasn’t enough reaction time to even fully comprehend that I was standing next to a Pretty Little Liars actor. His manager, who was kind enough to offer to take our photos, quickly shot our portraits before asking, “Wait–how did you know it was him?”. Sheepishly, I responded, noting how I recognized his voice, to which Keegan smirked at. I didn’t even get the chance to say “bye” or “thank you” before they rushed inside the parking lot.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Sorry, Spence! – A

It took a good minute or two for me to grasp what had just happened. Holy shit! I just met an actor–which, I thought, was pretty awesome, since actors were a rarer find than singers. I texted my mom, posted on Instagram and shared on Facebook. The world had to know that I just met Keegan Allen–I just touched Keegan Allen. So yes, we’re basically homies.

Not that I’d ever meet any other actor, but I made a list of who I would want to meet after this happenstance: the Franco brothers, Emma Stone, Andrew Garfield, Jennifer Lawrence. SO, here’s to hoping I meet them too.

 

One thought on “Spotted: Toby Cavanaugh

Leave a Reply

