Dance off the Calories with iLoveMemphis

From the streets of his hometown Memphis, Tennessee to the Burbank stage on Ellen, hip hop artist and rapper Richard Colbert–or better known as iLoveMemphis–has grown hot this past year, peaking on Billboard’s Top 100 with his singles “Hit the Quan” and more recently “Lean and Dabb”.

Since “Hit the Quan” went viral, young adults fled to YouTube, Vine, and Facebook, covering the choreography. But what came as a surprise was the amount of fitness training videos that began to trend! Even Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson was filmed “hitting the Quan”! His response?

“Yes, I’ve seen The Rock and other huge celebrities have so much fun as they work out to Hit The Quan. It makes me happy and brings excitement to see my music helping others.” “It feels great knowing that people can work out to my music and lose weight for the better.”

Dance covers seem to be a huge this year, and iLoveMemphis makes sure to not miss out on the fun as well. He tells, “I love dancing and that’s how I stay fit.”

Dancing burns 370 calories an hour and is even known to improve memory and prevent you from developing dementia. Besides reaping the benefits of flexibility and getting your heart pumping, researchers for the Journal of Applied Gerontology have also discovered that dancing is a great stress relief. So what are you waiting for? Go Hit the Quan!

Check out the official Q&A Interview Below to Learn More!

Recently, fitness instructors and celebrities (INCLUDING THE ROCK!) have made workouts based on your song! Have you seen any? What is your reaction to that?

Yes, I’ve seen The Rock and other huge celebrities have so much fun as they work out to Hit The Quan. It makes me happy and brings excitement to see my music helping others.

Hip Hop dancing can burn up to 370 calories in one hour. Would you consider dancing to be one of your favorite fitness activities?

Most definitely. I love dancing and that’s how I stay fit.

How do you feel knowing that Hit the Quan has helped burn a bunch of calories for many people?

It feels great knowing that people can work out to my music and lose weight for the better.

Do you have a fitness regimen? If so, what is it?

I really just run and do push-ups a lot. And of course dancing lol.

When you exercise, what gear do you normally wear?

When I workout I wear shorts, long socks and a long sleeve shirt or hoodie. Keeps me comfortable.

What is your favorite fruit or vegetable?

My favorite fruit is bananas.

What is your guilty pleasure food?

Pizza has to be my guilty food lol. If not candy.

What’s your idea of a fun, fitness first date? And which of your celebrity crushes would you take?

My idea of a fun fitness first date is going running and getting to know Kylie Jenner lol.

What’s up next for you?

Up next I will be dropping more dance singles. Stay tuned!

Photo courtesy of “The Real”.

One thought on “Dance off the Calories with iLoveMemphis

Leave a Reply

